Ray Boltz is gay

17 09 2008

Ray Boltz is a christian musician who I grew up listening to.  If you have ever heard the song “Thank You” or “Watch the Lamb” or “Shephard Boy” or “I Pledge Allegiance to the Lamb” then you know who I am talking about.  (I sing “Shephard Boy” to my kids all the time.)

Well, I just read this article that tells the story of Boltz coming out as a gay christian.

Wow.  Part of me is shocked.  Part of me isn’t at all surprised.

It seems like lately I have been finding many areas where christianity and homosexuality collide.  First, the leadership of my church denomination distributed a pamphlet to its pastors on the subject which I thought was very loving and accepting in its tone toward gay people.  Then, a few weeks later, the same leadership followed up to those same pastors with an email that I felt was much more dismissive and politically biased.  I found these two communications to be an intriguing dichotomy of almost opposing view-points.  On another occasion, I read about a gay couple who were asked to leave from a homeless meal program at a local church because they were gay.  This theme has come up in my conversations with people on an almost weekly basis.

And, now this about Ray Boltz.

Will the words in this song be heard differently now?  Should they?

Actions

Information

14 responses

17 09 2008
Shawn W

I don’t know where the idea came from that you can’t be gay and Christian, but it’s not in the Bible.

Romans 1, which everyone likes to use to bash on gays, also lists sins like gossip, envy, pride, and disobedient to your parents. God sees sin as sin, and they all carry the same penalty with Him.

Glutony is a sin, and I’m an over-weight Christian. I love God with all my heart. Maybe that should make me put the cheeseburger down, but I’m not there yet. So, no way my 200 lb self is going to tell a gay person they’re not a Christian.

18 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

Shawn, I agree…a sin is a sin. But, are you a sinner for being a gluton? Or is it when you practice gluttony that you sin? In other words, you admit you struggle with overeating, but is the struggle itself the sin or is it when you give in and eat more than you should? I contend it is the latter. Same with homosexuality. One’s sexual orientation in itself is not a sin…it’s how one acts on his/her sexuality that can be sinful. That is the same for homosexuals and for heterosexuals alike.

What do you think?

18 09 2008
Shawn W

I agree completely. Many churches have turned their backs on the homosexual community, and it’s wrong. Sinners, all sinners need to be in church.

18 09 2008
David

I completely agree with you guys. I used to listen to ray boltz, dc talk, steven curtus chapman and other christian artists…. I KNOW FOR A FACT that each one of them have sinned in the eyes of God. How can we say we still can’t listen to Ray Boltz anymore. Are you saying that you are perfect? God specifically talks about this when he says in Matthew 7:3-5, “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” If anything, we need to listen to his music more because God is the only one that is going to be glorified in this circumstance!

18 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

Shawn: Amen. You are right on the money. Thanks for your comments.

18 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

David: You are right…ALL have sinned and fallen short.

26 09 2008
shawnbarr

What a sad situation with Boltz. I do hope the Christian world will pray for him and also exhort him. Remember that we are called to exhort one another when we see a brother in sin. Here’s a fictional conversation between Ray Boltz and Jesus…

http://shawnbarr.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/ray-boltz-talks-to-jesus/

26 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

Shawnbarr: are you saying he has sinned by coming out as a homosexual? Is it a sin to say you are a homosexual if that is the truth? I mean, if he claims to be a heterosexual and continues to cover up who he is, is that lie not sinful?

29 09 2008
shawnbarr

I would say, and I think the Scripture would support, that having homosexual feelings are not sinful. We all have feelings, tempatations, shortcomings, etc. A temptation is not sinful until we act on it.

Homosexuality is a supercharged issue.

Let’s look at another sin – lying. I could be tempted to lie about my experience on a resume (not a sin). But if I actually falsify it, then it’s a sin.

Also, as indicated in my fictional dialogue, God has given us the Church and our Christian family so we don’t have to hide, but go to them for help. Coming out and living the gay lifestyle instead of hiding his feelings was not the only option for Ray (which I believe the Scripture indicates is sin).

He could have admitted his struggles to those who love him and ask for help. Just like we do with other sins (lying for example).

29 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

Yeah, I agree for the most part. Although, I haven’t read anything to confirmed to me that Ray has come out and is living the gay lifestyle. All I have read is that he has come out and he hasn’t commented further about his so-called lifestyle.

29 09 2008
shawnbarr

Check out the article titled “Key Changes” in the Washington Blade. He is living the gay lifestyle and says he has accepted that this is just the way God made him.

29 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

I read the entire article before my post and I just did a search for the term “lifestyle” in the article again to make sure I didn’t miss anything. The only place it showed up was in this quote from the Gospel Music Associate, “GMA is a trade organization that works for our members to promote gospel/Christian music, not a religious or political group. As such, we … do not comment on the lifestyle choices of people in our community.”

I do see in the article that he has accepted his sexuality and who he is. But, again, I don’t see that as a sin.

So, without more information, I am not going to jump to any conclusions. And, I certainly don’t feel that I am in a position to judge.

29 09 2008
shawnbarr

Quote from article…

“Boltz declines to go into specifics about the first time he was with a man, but says he has been dating and lives “a normal gay life” now.”

30 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

Fair enough. I will still withhold judgement, though.

Leave a Reply

