Purple America

15 09 2008

OK, there are now less than 50 days until I will cast my ballot in this year’s presidential election.  This is the fourth time I have been eligible to vote in a such an election.  But, this is the first time I can honestly say that I am completely 100% undecided at this stage in the campaigns.

It seems like everyone has an opinion and is predisposed to one side or the other.  I even know some people who seem to be predisposed to not voting for either major party candidate (they always tell me this out of a emphatic and yet odd sense of patriotic duty).

For the first time, though, I don’t feel predisposed to either party…or to neither party for that matter.

In a weird way, I actually kind of like both candidates.  But, at the same time, I don’t trust either of them.  I really don’t want to vote for someone and then regret it in a few years.  I am certainly smart enough to know that neither one of them is telling me the whole truth about everything.  I would even venture to say that they are both probably lying through their teeth on certain subjects.

I am really looking forward to the debates.  I really hope that the contents of the debates gives me something to base my decision on.

It’s really weird in this divided political climate how really smart people can see things so completely differently…and so completely along party lines.

It almost seems like we are all watching a sporting event where everyone takes sides based on what team they are used to rooting for.  It’s like my brother and me.  He is a huge Spurs fan and I am a huge Mavs fan.  No matter how objective we try to be when our teams play each other, we always end up seeing two totally different games.

It’s the same with politics.  No matter what words are said or what actions are taken or what plans are promised or what running mate is selected, half the country sees it as good and half the country sees it as bad.

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 09 2008
Jamie

Go Spurs!

16 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

Go Mavs!

17 09 2008
Jodi

Go Cowboys!

Leave a Reply

