Episode 1 – What is Right with People

15 08 2008

When I first started my “What is the matter with people” blog series, I told myself that I needed to also have a “What is right with people” blog series to keep things balanced.

Well, it turns out that I see way more headlines about crazy people than I do about people that do good things.  I think most of that is because that’s just what the media reports and what grabs people’s attention.  But, it’s also because there is a shortage of people who go above and beyond to do the right things in their daily lives.

Anyway, I finally do have something worth posting to start this new series:

Yesterday, my wife and kids were eating lunch at a nearby restaurant.  As they were sitting there, a young man came in and asked if she was the owner of the gold Honda Odyssey parked outside.  She said yes and he proceeded to tell her that he had accidently collided into it with his vehicle.

The damage isn’t terrible.  I am sure it won’t be cheap to fix, but it is really not that bad.  Honestly, with my lack of observation skills, it would have been a few days before I would have noticed it myself.

But, the point of this post is that I think a vast majority of people in that situation would have driven off.  Some would have left a bogus note on the windshield simply as a demonstration of good-will to potential witnesses.  But, a very small percentage would have actually come in to the restaurant, found the owner, and owned up to what happened.

My wife gave me the piece of paper on which he had written his information.  Even when I called him up last night, I wondered if the number might be bogus.  But, it wasn’t.  I thanked him for what he did.  His response was simply, “Absolutely” as if to say, “Of course, it was the right thing to do”.

I am impressed, and I will give credit where credit is due.

My wife told me he had a small daughter with him when he came in the restaurant.  What an awesome life lesson he taught his daughter by simply doing the right thing.  Anything short would have taught her the wrong lesson.

So, I applaud this young man, and others like him.  Certainly, he is an example of What is Right with People.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 08 2008
Kyle Stickens

Awesome!

I still remember the time when I was in high school and my brother and our best friend went to a Cardinals baseball game. After the game we were walking pretty fast to the car so we could beat the crowd and my friend wasn’t watching where he was going and knocked someone’s mirror off their jeep. We were just kids, so we just took off. Amazing how things like that still make me feel bad today.

22 08 2008
Crazy week « BuffaloNickel

[…] impact changes on our lives this week, we are also dealing with an insurance claim to our car (see previous post) and trying to get our son ready to start pre-school for the first time next week (last night was […]

Leave a Reply

