I’ll see you on the beach.

25 05 2008

What\'s the rallying point, sir?  Anywhere but here.

I have a tradition of watching my favorite movie every Memorial Day weekend.  My favorite movie is Saving Private Ryan.  I think it is just an excellent film.  The first 20 minutes or so are so riveting.  It makes you feel like you are really on the beach with those men that June day in Normandy.  But, even as real as that footage feels, I am sure that what those men experienced that day was a million times worse.  Even after watching that footage just now for probably the 20th time, I still can’t really imagine what it must have been like to be there on that day. 

“What’s the rallying point, sir?”  … “Anywhere but here!”

Here’s a big thank you to all you veterans out there.  Thanks for your service and sacrifice.  And for all those men and women who have laid down their lives for this country, we honor you on this Memorial Day.

Actions

Information

9 responses

26 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

Here’s the lyrics to a great song by the Dixie Chicks that is fitting to read through today:

“Travelin’ Soldier” by Bruce Robinson

Two days past eighteen
He was waiting for the bus in his army green
Sat down in a booth in a cafe there
Gave his order to a girl with a bow in her hair
He’s a little shy so she gives him a smile
And he said would you mind sittin’ down for a while
And talking to me,
I’m feeling a little low
She said I’m off in an hour and I know where we can go

So they went down and they sat on the pier
He said I bet you got a boyfriend but I don’t care
I got no one to send a letter to
Would you mind if I sent one back here to you

Chorus: I cried
Never gonna hold the hand of another guy
Too young for him they told her
Waitin’ for the love of a travelin’ soldier
Our love will never end
Waitin’ for the soldier to come back again
Never more to be alone when the letter said
A soldier’s coming home

So the letters came from an army camp
In California then Vietnam
And he told her of his heart
It might be love and all of the things he was so scared of
He said when it’s getting kinda rough over here
I think of that day sittin’ down at the pier
And I close my eyes and see your pretty smile
Don’t worry but I won’t be able to write for awhile

[Chorus]

One Friday night at a football game
The Lord’s Prayer said and the Anthem sang
A man said folks would you bow your heads
For a list of local Vietnam dead
Crying all alone under the stands
Was a piccolo player in the marching band
And one name read and nobody really cared
But a pretty little girl with a bow in her hair

[Chorus x2]

29 05 2008
Jamie

Here, here! BTW, if that’s you’re favorite movie, have you watched the Band of Brothers miniseries? It’s like Saving Private Ryan on steroids.

29 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

Yes, I have seen Band of Brothers. You’re right, it was incredible. I wish I had time to watch that every memorial day!

10 09 2008
dan

does anyone know the song that pvt. stanley mellish ( adam goldburg) is humming / mumbling somwhere in the middle of the movie..? i have it stuck in my head

15 09 2008
BuffaloNickel

I can’t think of it. Sorry.

10 02 2009
Mike

What is the song he is mumbling? Good question… i think the first word he says is “memories…” then the rest isnt really audible

23 02 2009
c.k.

Watched both Saving Private Ryan and Band Of Brothers.
I’d just say, its Amazing!

9 03 2010
jack

Mellish (Goldberg) is mumbling Solitude, I think, I dont know who by. Great film, specially Barry Pepper as Private Jackson, love the sniper scope shot! lol

4 06 2010
Mick

Saving Private Ryan is juvenile propaganda.

Leave a Reply

