Jubilee Kids Club

17 05 2008

Jubilee Kids ClubToday my family and I along with some other friends of ours spent a couple of hours at a homeless shelter in Mckinney, TX called The Samaritan Inn.  The program that we are involved in is called Jubilee Kids Club and it is under the umbrella of an awesome non-profit organization called Retread.

The Jubilee Kids Club program is simple – show up to the shelter and play with the kids for a couple of hours.  These kids are dying for love and attention and their parents are often dying for a break.  For 2 hours one Saturday each month, we give them each what they are dying for.

The time we spend there goes by so fast and everyone has so much fun.  Today was our biggest turn out to date by far.  We had 14 kids show up and most of them were ages 4 and under.  But, I tell you, all those little personalities bring so much joy to ours lives.

I really want my kids to know what it means to show God’s love to those around them.  I think by volunteering our time for just 2 hours a month is one small way that we can do just that together as a family.  It is truly inspirational to me when my kids get home and talk about their friends at the Inn by name and they look forward to the next time they can see them.

We have made a special bond with one family in particular.  They are a single parent home with 4 kids ages 5, 3, 2, and 6mo.  My 4 year old made fast friends with their 5 year old and the same with the 2 year olds.  Last time we were there, the mom told us that we probably wouldn’t see them again because they had found a place to move into.  We were so happy for them…and yet sad that we may never see them again.  Today we showed up and were surprised to see the family still living there.  We asked about it and the mother told us that the home they had hoped to move into had fallen through.  We were happy to see them, but sad that things hadn’t worked out for them.

Here’s hoping that they aren’t there next month.

If you live in the North Texas area and would like to get involved, please leave a comment and I will put you in touch with the right people.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 05 2008
Kyle Stickens

I was driving into work this morning and had the kids at the Samaritan Inn on my mind. I was trying to think what I had going on next Saturday and if I could possibly go and hang out with them for a couple of hours. It could be May “bonus” month or something, or maybe just love? Love for those kids and their parents!

19 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

It’s a good idea, if you can handle it. Important not to stretch yourself too thin or get burn out. Did anyone talk to you from class yesterday about volunteering? It would be great if we could have two teams of people going every other week.

20 05 2008
This was the kid « BuffaloNickel

[…] was the kid 20 05 2008 Today was a very sad day. I have posted before about the Jubilee Kids Club program that my friends and I have started at the Samaritan Inn here in McKinney. Well, today we […]

Leave a Reply

