Cars and me just don’t mix

13 05 2008

My wife took our minivan to get detailed today.  This is something that is rare for us, but we have been wanting to do it for a couple months now and today was a good opportunity since we had both child seats out for cleaning anyway.

Tonight she had to go to a meeting, so my job was to get the boys to bed and to re-install the child car seats (a job that I loathe).  Anyway, I got the kids down with only minor headaches (another post for another day will be about the discipline of my children (or lack thereof)).

 

Then, I moved on to the car seat installation project.  But, I got stuck in my tracks just as soon as I got started because lo and behold, the automatic sliding side doors would not open.  Some electrical problem obviously.

So, after a few minutes of cursing the car detailers and my wife (who of course was totally faultless but I was just cursing anyone even remotely related to the car detail operation), I got out the car manual and began studying the electrical system.  I figured it had to be a blown fuse caused by excessive hand washing or something, so I learned the ins and outs of my minivan’s many fuse boxes.  I opened the one with the fuses to the side doors.  (By the way, by now it was dark outside, so I had to fish out a flashlight from the garage to carry on).  Finding the right fuse, I took it out for a closer examination.  This was recommended by the manual; however, upon inspection, I could not find anything wrong.

More cursing….

With absolutely no idea what else to try, I gave up for the night.  I resigned myself to take it back to the car wash place tomorrow and have them fix it.

On her way home, my wife called and I explained to her the problem I was having.  She assured me it was probably a minor problem and she would look at it when she got home.  The nerve…she will look at it when she gets home.  Yeah, whatever….you go right ahead and look at it, Honey.

She got home and went out to the garage.  Came back in within seconds.  Smiling, I said to her “Believe me, now, that there is a problem??”.  She smiled right back and said, “I told you it wasn’t a big problem, the switch that turns off the automatic doors had been disabled inadvertently by the detailer…I just switched it back on”.

She just switched it back on.  “Oh, good…” I said back.  And, I really am glad that I can cross this one little thing off of my list of things to worry about…but deep down we both knew that this was just one more item that can be added to the lengthy list of things that prove that cars and me just don’t mix.

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 05 2008
Jodi

I think your lack of car expertise is cute, Honey! : )

14 05 2008
Kyle Stickens

It also totally blows the scientific theory on your previous post about Men being smarter than Women!!!! Hahahahaahhah!

Way to go Jodi!

14 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

And, this is definitely not the dumbest thing I have ever done with cars. Maybe I will blog about that a different day.

21 05 2008
Sarah

That is so funny!! Sorry Jay! I could totally see this happening to Jonathan too.

22 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

You girls just need to keep stroking our egos so we don’t completely lose all hope in our abilities.

Leave a Reply

