Greatest moment in Mavs history

5 05 2008

What is the greatest moment in Dallas Mavericks history?  Well, it is pictured to the right.

When that moment happened 2 years ago, I thought the Mavs were on their way to winning a championship.  Honestly, I thought that they would be contenders for a title for several years to come.  For those of you non-sportsnuts like myself, Dirk made a 3-point play (See Ginoble’s foul there?) to push Game 7 to OverTime and an eventual win going away on the Spurs homecourt.

Boy, how times change.  They end up beating Phoenix that year in the conference championship series and then go up 2-0 in the Finals to Miami.  Then, they choke it all away.

Then they fool us all again, winning 67 games in the regular season the next season and locking up the #1 overall seed in the playoffs.  Then comes Golden State.  Another huge embarrassing collapse.

I remember reading Jerry Stackhouse’s quote at the beginning of this year.  To paraphrase, “Either going to the finals was a fluke or getting knocked out in the first round was a fluke, this year we will find out”.  Well, I think he was right.  We all found out. 

Dirk said last week, “For me, personally, I feel like it’s another wasted year”.  I feel exactly the same way as Dirk.

As a die-hard Mavs fan, I don’t have a lot to put my hope in either.  I think they do have some flexibility in their roster that might give them the ability to make a deal or two in the off-season.  But, I am not sure I see anything that can put them back to an elite contender status right away.  Maybe I am just a glass is half empty kind of guy, but I definitely need something big to happen to renew my excitement and get me out of this funk. 

And, hiring Rick Carlisle is not exactly what I am talking about.  I think he will be fine, but he doesn’t make me excited again.  I need to see something big.  And, I just don’t see what it could be.  But, I hope that Cuban and Little Nellie can come up with something to renew my excitement in a team that had me so caught up in excitement this time two years ago that I could hardly stand it.

Please, Sports Gods, please make things right for the Mavs.  They were the worst franchise in all of sports in the 90s and they got exactly zero #1 overall picks to show for it and only one in the top 3.  Meanwhile, the Spurs got two #1 overall picks exactly ten years apart (David Robinson and Tim Duncan).  They have 4 titles to show for that.  Coincidence?  I think not.

Which brings me back to the greatest moment in Mavs history.  When that moment happened, I thought for sure, it wouldn’t be their greatest moment for very long.  Now, it really looks like I am going to have to wait awhile for something better.  As a Mavs fan, I guess I should be getting good at waiting…

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 05 2008
Rick Moore

Unfortunately I don’t see many happy moments coming from the Mavs for a long time, my friend. They’re too old and Cuban’s generous contracts will limit the offseason flexibility to sign other players. I imagine Cuban will eventually give up and move on to the Pirates or some other team since he’s so competitive and the window is closing(or has closed) here.

5 05 2008
David

As much as it hurs me to do so…I will have to agree with you. I am not sure the Sports Gods care though!!

6 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

I don’t think Cuban is going to give up on the Mavs. That would make me lose even more hope. Did you read his latest Mavs blog entry?
http://www.blogmaverick.com/2008/05/02/talking-mavs/
I hadn’t read it before my blog, but it gives a little more insight into the future financial situation of the Mavs. Doesn’t do a whole lot to make me feel better though.

Leave a Reply

