Juno movie review

2 05 2008

Juno

Ok, this is definitely not what I expected to be the topic of my first real post.  But I watched a movie last night for the first time in a long time.

Side note – my wife and I used to watch movies all the time…then…kids.

But, at my wife’s request, I rented the movie Juno.  I had no intentions of watching it with her, but it just so happened that I had a few minutes free time last night after getting the boys down to bed so I told her I would give it 15 minutes.

30 minutes later, I looked over at her and said that I was hooked for the duration.

I found the movie entertaining from start to finish.  Here’s my brief review of the movie.

The movie is about a young teenaged high school student who gets herself pregnant.  After getting freaked out at the abortion clinic, she makes the decision to adopt the baby out to a worthy couple.  The rest of the movie is about her relationships with that couple, with her family, with the baby’s father, and with the rest of her little high school world.

The movie is fresh and fun in style.  It is extremely witty.  I don’t know if it’s just because my wife is pregnant now or not, but we found ourselves laughing out loud many times throughout.  But, more than just witty, the film is deep in a not so deep kind of way.  What I mean by that is that the movie gives you fresh perspectives on pregnancy, on adoption, on family, and on the way society looks at these things; but at the same time, it keeps things light and fun and does not try to force any ideas or any hidden agendas on you.

Ellen Page is either a very good actress or she was just born to play Juno.  I kind of think it’s the latter but that is by no means an insult to her…she was just absolutely perfect in this role.  One moment she has the face of a 12 year old girl, and the next moment, the face of a 21 year old woman…which is a perfect match for the experiences that Juno is living out in the movie.

So, if you have time for a witty movie with a great central character living out a complex but real life situation, go rent Juno.

Would love to hear what you think of the movie…

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 05 2008
kylestickens

So does this make me your first comment? Do I get a prize or something?

Looks good so far, so keep up the posting! I can’t wait to see Juno. It’s been on our list for quite some time and we want to see it really bad. We didn’t make it to the theater to see it because, like you said, kids or in our case…kid! 🙂

2 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

Yes, you are my first comment. You should be proud.

12 05 2008
jodistiegelmeyer

How…exactly…did this young girl “get herself pregnant”? I don’t remember seeing that part of the movie. : )

12 05 2008
BuffaloNickel

I believe she engaged in sexual intercourse with another young teenaged high school student. LOL

1 09 2010
koungaroo

Leave a Reply

